New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals is the starting point for your New Music Friday. Dig into the week’s freshly delivered stack of new album releases with our playlist highlighting choice cuts from the wide platter of new LPs dropped each week; from big name releases to the albums you’ve been anticipating for months – as well as new favorites from a broad range of genres. Listen to the playlist here and read about some of this week’s biggest albums below.

*   *   *


Following up on last week’s eponymous FUTURE release, Future is out with yet another album titled HNDRXX. While the album has no confirmed singles, it features collaborations from The Weeknd and Rihanna. HNDRXX is out via Future’s own Freebandz label as well as Epic Records.

You can listen to HNDRXX here. You can also listen to our Best of Future playlist or otherwise to our Monster Music playlist.

Dirty Projectors
Dirty Projectors

Unexpectedly, The Dirty Projectors released their self-titled eighth studio album on February 21, 2017, three days earlier than initially scheduled. Dirty Projectors follows singles “Keep Your Name,” “Little Bubble,” “Up in Hudson” and “Cool Your Heart”. The album is out via today Domino Records.

You can listen to Dirty Projectors here.


Multi-genre bass guitarist Thundercat is out with Drunk, his fourth solo studio album to date. The album follows singles “Bus In These Streets,” “Show You The Way” and “Friend Zone.” Drunk features appearances from Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell and Kenny Loggins, among others, with production credits going to Flying Lotus and Tom Smith. The album is out via Brainfeeder.

You can listen to Drunk here.

Gang Signs & Prayer

British grime artist Stormzy has finally made his long-awaited studio debut with Gang Signs & Prayer. The winner of back-to-back MOBO awards in 2014 and 2015 for best grime act only officially announced the album earlier this month. The album follows leading single “Big For Your Boots” and features appearances from Ghetts, Kehlani and MNEK. The album is out on Stormzy’s own #Merky Records.

You can listen to Gang Signs & Prayer here. Listen to our Stormzy Essentials playlist here.

Prince Royce

FIVE is the fifth studio album by Latin artist Prince Royce. The album follows singles “La Carretera,” “Moneda,” “Dilema,” “Ganas Locas and “Deja vu.” FIVE is out via Sony Music Latin and includes appearances from Chris Brown, Zendaya, Shakira and more.

You can listen to FIVE here. You can also listed to Prince Royce’s personally curated playlist here.

John Mayer
The Search For Everything – Wave Two

As a follow up to last month’s The Search For Everything – Wave One, The Search For Everything – Wave Two provides listeners with four brand new songs from singer-songwriter and legendary guitarist John Mayer. The EP includes the tracks “Still Feel Like Your Man,” “Helpless,” “Roll It On Home” and “Emoji of a Wave.” The Search For Everything – Wave Two is out via Columbia Records.

You can listen to The Search For Everything – Wave Two here.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Flying Microtonal Banana

Eccentric Australian psychedelic rock group King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard are out today with their ninth studio album, Flying Microtonal Banana. The album is the first of five studio albums the group plans to release in 2017 and follows singles “Rattlesnake,” “Nuclear Fusion” and “Sleep Drifter.” Flying Microtonal Banana is out via Flightless Records and available for streaming today.

You can listen to Flying Microtonal Banana here. For more like King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, you can listen to our Modern Psychedelic playlist.

Nü Religion: HYENA

Nü Religion: HYENA is the debut studio album by TIDAL Rising R&B/Hip-Hop duo THEY. The duo has been making waves in the industry since the release of their 2015 Nü Religion EP. The album follows singles “Say When,” “Deep End,” “What You Want,” “U-Rite,” “Silence” and “All.” Nü Religion: HYENA is out via Mind Of A Genius and Warner Bros. Records.

You can listen to Nü Religion: HYENA here.

The Iceberg

Prolific rapper and producer Oddisee just released The Iceberg, his third project in twelve months time. The album follows singles “Things,” “Like Really” and “NNGE.” The Iceberg is out courtesy of Mello Music Group.

You can listen to The Iceberg here.

The Feelies
In Between

American jangle-pop outfit The Feelies have just released In Between, their first studio album in six years. Most of the recording for In Between took place in the home studio of vocalist and guitarist Glenn Mercer, promoting a relaxed and laid back feel for the album. In Between is out today via Bar None Records.

You can listen to In Between here. For a better sense of where jangle-pop comes from, you can listen to our Jingle Jangle Morning: The Golden Years of Jangle Pop playlist.

Little Big Town
The Breaker

Country music group Little Big Town are out now with their eighth studio album The Breaker. The album follows singles “Better Man,” “Happy People,” “We Went To The Beach” and “When Someone Stops Loving You.” The album is available for streaming today and is out via Capitol Records Nashville.

You can listen to The Breaker here.

[fbcomments num="5" width="100%" count="off" countmsg="kommentarer" url=""]