New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals is the starting point for your New Music Friday. Dig into the week’s freshly delivered stack of new album releases with this playlist highlighting choice cuts from the wide platter of new LPs dropped each week; from big name releases to the albums you’ve been anticipating for months – as well as new favorites from a broad range of genres. Listen to the playlist here.

*   *   *


Foxygen, the Indie Rock duo made up of Jonathan Rado and Sam France are out today with their much anticipated third LP Hang. Featuring collaborations with Steven Drozd of the Flaming Lips and a 40+ piece orchestra, Hang is sure to turn heads in a good way. Out via Jagjaguar, Hang follows singles “On Lankershim” and “Follow the Leader.”

You can listen to Hang here. You can also read our recent interview with Foxygen here.

John Mayer
The Search For Everything – Wave One

The Search for Everything – Wave One is singer-songwriter and legendary guitarist John Mayer’s seventh studio album. The album is headlined by leading single “Love On The Weekend,” one praised by Rolling Stone as: “a return to Mayer’s pop-rock roots while retaining a bit of bluesy flair Mayer cultivated on his last several studio albums.” Mayer describes the album as being one of his most personal works to date. Out via Columbia records, The Search for Everything – Wave One is a must listen.

You can listen to The Search for Everything – Wave One here.

Nicky Jam

Reggaeton singer-songwriter Nicky Jam is back with Fénix, his first studio album in a decade now. However, despite the album drought, high quality tracks like “Hasta el Amanecer,” “El Perdón” featuring Enrique Iglesias, and, most recently, Fénix leading single “El Amante” have kept fans eagerly awaiting more from the Latin Grammy award winning artist. For any fan of reggaeton, Fénix will not disappoint.

You can listen to Fénix here.

AFI (The Blood Album) 

Also known as The Blood Album, AFI is the tenth studio release from rock outfit AFI. The album comes after singles “White Offerings,” “Get Hurt,” “Aurelia” and the melancholic ballad “Snow Cats.” Produced by Jade Puget and Matt Hyde, AFI (The Blood Album) is out via Concord Records and available for streaming on TIDAL today.

You can listen to AFI (The Blood Album) here.

Hegelian Dialectic (The Book of Revelation)

Prodigy, one half of the critically acclaimed hip-hop group Mobb Deep, has been hard at work since the release of 2014’s Young Rolling Stonerz, his collaborative album with Boogz Boogetz. His brand new album, Hegelian Dialectic (The Book of Revelation), is named after a theory devised by 18th century German philosopher Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel. Out via Infamous Records, Prodigy’s first solo project in 5 years stays true to his Queens, NY roots.

You can listen to Hegelian Dialectic (The Book of Revelation) here.

Cherry Glazerr

Apocalipstick marks the first release from indie rockers Cherry Glazerr since 2014. Following the departure and subsequent replacement of drummer Hannah Uribe and bassist Sean Redman, founder and lead guitarist Clementine Creevy set to work on the new album, one enchanced by the addition of multi-instrumentalist Sasami Ashworth. Following singles “Nurse Ratched” and “Nuclear Bomb,” Apocalipstick is perfect for any fan of psychedelic rock ‘n’ roll.

You can listen to Apocalipstick here.

Future Politics

The Toronto-based electro-pop collective known as Austra return to the scene with Future Politics, their third studio album and latest since 2013’s Olympia. Made up of members Katie Stelmanis, Maya Postepski, Dorian Wolf and Ryan Wonsiak, Austra’s music is progressive, socially conscious and ultimately optimistic. Following singles “Future Politics” and “Utopia,” Future Politics is filled with music that questions, encounters and inspires without suppressing or sugarcoating anything.

You can listen to Future Politics here.

[fbcomments num="5" width="100%" count="off" countmsg="kommentarer" url=""]