New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals is the starting point for your New Music Friday. Dig into the week’s freshly delivered stack of new album releases with this playlist highlighting choice cuts from the wide platter of new LPs dropped each week; from big name releases to the albums you’ve been anticipating for months – as well as new favorites from a broad range of genres. Listen to the playlist here.

*   *   *

The xx
I See You

The xx are back with I See You, their third record to date and first since 2012′s Coexist. The melancholic indie electronic outfit’s latest record was produced by band member and producer extraordinaire Jamie xx alongside Scottish producer Rodaidh McDonald (Adele, Vampire Weekend, King Krule). The album, out by way of Young Turks, follows singles “On Hold” and “Say Something Loving.”

You can listen to I See You here. You can also listen to our The xx Essentials playlist here.

The Flaming Lips
Oczy Mlody

Following the release of The Terror in 2013, the legendary psychedelic rock outfit known as The Flaming lips return with Oczy Mlody, their first proper album in four years. The album follows leading singles “The Castle,” “How??,” “Sunrise (Eyes of the Young),” and “We a Family” and was produced by The Flaming Lips with a little help from producer Dave Fridmann (Sparklehorse, Sleater-Kinney, Neon Indian). Oczy Mlody is out by way of Warner Brothers and Bella Union.   

You can listen to Oczy Mlody here. You can also listen to our Flaming Lips Through The Years playlist here or our Covers By The Flaming Lips playlist here. Read our 2014 interview with Wayne Coyne here.


Electronic musician, producer and DJ Simon Green, better known by his Bonobo performance moniker, is out today with Migration, his first full-length record release since 2013′s The North Boarders. The album, out courtesy of the independent Ninja Tune record label,  follows leading singles “Kerala,” “Break Apart,” and “No Reason” featuring Nick Murphy.

You can listen to Migration here.


Häxan is the ninth studio album from Dungen, a Swedish progressive and psychedelic rock outfit based in Stockholm. The album marks their latest release since 2015′s Allas Sak and follows leading single “Jakten genom skogen.” Produced by Mathias Glavå, Häxan marks Dungen’s first all-instrumental album and is out by way of Mexican Summer.

You can listen to Häxan here.

Flo Morrissey and Matthew E. White
Gentlewoman, Ruby Man

Virginia-based producer and arranger Matthew E. White and London-based singer-songwriter Flo Morrissey have linked up to put out Gentlewoman, Ruby Man, their first collaboration to date. Available courtesy of Glassnote, the album consists entirely of covers by such artists as James Blake, the Velvet Underground, Frank Ocean, Leonard Cohen and more. Gentlewoman, Ruby Man follows singles “Look At What The Light Did Now,” “Looking For You,” “Grease,” and “Sunday Morning.”

You can listen to Gentlewoman, Ruby Man here. You can also read our interview with Matthew E. White here and our interview with Flo Morrissey here.

Machine Messiah

Brazilian heavy metal band Sepultura are back with Machine Messiah, their fourteenth studio album to date and latest since 2013′s The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart. Produced by Jens Bogren (James LaBrie, Dragonforce), the album follows singles “Phantom Self” and “I Am the Enemy.” Machine Messiah is out by way of Nuclear Blast.

You can listen to Machine Messiah here.

Dâm Funk
Architecture EP

Working under his Dâm Funk moniker, American vocalist, producer and funk musician Damon Garrett Riddick is out with the Architecture EP, his first EP since 2015′s STFU. The Architecture EP is out by way of Saft, a Spanish deep house label run by Patrick Luca. The EP follows leading single “Break Out.”

You can listen to the Architecture EP here.

[fbcomments num="5" width="100%" count="off" countmsg="kommentarer" url=""]