New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals: Albums Released Today

New Arrivals is the starting point for your New Music Friday. Dig into the week’s freshly delivered stack of new album releases with our playlist highlighting choice cuts from the wide platter of new LPs dropped each week, from big name releases to the albums you’ve been anticipating for months as well as new favorites from a broad range of genres. Listen to the weekly updated playlist here, and read about some of this week’s biggest albums below.

*   *   *


Lorde released her much-anticipated sophomore studio album entitled Melodrama. The album follows singles “Green Light,” “Liability,” “Perfect Places,” “Sober” and “Supercut.” Melodrama is out via Universal Music New Zealand.

You can listen to Melodrama here. For more Lorde, listen to our Lorde Essentials playlist here.

Young Thug
Beautiful Thugger Girls

Young Thug released his long awaited R&B/country “singing” album, Beautiful Thugger Girls. The album features appearances from Snoop Dogg, Future, Jacquees, Lil Durk and more. Beautiful Thugger Girls is out via 300 Entertainment.

You can listen to Beautiful Thugger Girls here. Also, be sure to give our Young Thug Essentials playlist a listen here.

2 Chainz
Pretty Girls Like Trap Music

2 Chainz released his fourth studio album, Pretty Girls Like Trap Music. The album follows singles “Good Drank” ft. Gucci Mane and Quavo, “It’s a Vibe” ft. Ty Dolla $ign and Jhene Aiko, and “4 AM” ft. Travis Scott. Pretty Girls Like Trap Music also features appearances from Drake, Pharrell, Swae Lee and more. The album is out via Def Jam Recordings.

You can listen to Pretty Girls Like Trap Music here. For even more from 2 Chainz, check out our Go 2 Chainz! playlist here.

Big Boi

Atlanta native and half of the legendary duo OutKast, rapper Big Boi released his third solo studio album, entitled Boomiverse. The album is Big Boi’s first since 2012’s Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors and follows singles “Mic Jack” ft. Adam Levine, Scar and Sleepy Brown as well as “Kill Jill” ft. Killer Mike and Jeezy. Boomiverse is out via Epic Records.

You can listen to Boomiverse here. Be sure to check out our Big Boi’s Best playlist here.

Fleet Foxes

Seattle-based folk band Fleet Foxes released their third studio album Crack-Up, their first since 2011’s Helplessness Blues. The album follows singles “Third of May / Ōdaigahara,” “Fool’s Errand” and “If You Need To, Keep Time On Me.” Crack-Up is out via Nonesuch Records.

You can listen to Crack-Up here. Also, listen to our Fleet Foxes Essentials playlist here.

Kevin Morby
City Music

Singer-songwriter Kevin Morby released his fourth studio album City Music. The album follows the release of singles “Come to Me Now,” “City Music,” “Aboard My Train” and “1234.” City Music is out via Dead Oceans.

You can listen to City Music here. For more from Kevin Morby, give our Kevin Morby Essentials playlist a listen here and check out our Meet The Parents: Kevin Morby’s Dad On Not Being Very Musical editorial piece here.

Songhoy Blues

Desert punk/blues group Songhoy Blues from Timbuktu, Mali, released their sophomore studio album Résistance. The album follows singles “Bamako” and “Mai Nord” and features appearances from Iggy Pop, Elf Kid and more. Résistance was produced by Neil Comber (M.I.A., Django Django) and is out via Fat Possum Records.

You can listen to Résistance here. Check out the TIDAL exclusive music video to Songhoy Blues’ single ”Bamako” here.

Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit
The Nashville Sound

Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Jason Isbell released his sixth studio album, The Nashville Sound. The album follows singles “Hope for The High Road,” “Cumberland Gap,” “If We Were Vampires” and “White Man’s World.” The Nashville Sound is out via Southeastern Records.

You can listen to The Nashville Sound here.

Weather Diaries

British rock band Ride released Weather Diaries, their fifth studio album and first since 1996’s Tarantula. The album follows singles “Charm Assault,” “Home Is A Feeling,” “All I Want” and “Lannoy Paint.” Weather Diaries was produced by Erol Alkan and is out via Wichita Recordings.

You can listen to Weather Diaries here.

Rich The Kid
Rich Forever 3

After penning a new deal with Interscope records last week, Rich The Kid released his Rich Forever 3 mixtape today. The mixtape follows last year’s release of Rich Forever 2.

You can listen to Rich Forever 3 here.

Beth Ditto
Fake Sugar

Former Gossip lead singer, Beth Ditto,  has released her debut solo album entitled Fake Sugar. The album follows singles “Fire,” “Oo La La” and “We Could Run.” Fake Sugar is out via Virgin Records.

You can listen to Fake Sugar here.

Portugal. The Man

Alaskan rock band Portugal. The Man released their eighth studio album entitled Woodstock. The album is the band’s first since 2013’s Evil Friends and follows singles “Noise Pollution,” “Feel It Still,” “So Young,” “Rich Friends” and “Number One” ft. Richie Havens and Son Little. Woodstock is out via Atlantic Records.

You can listen to Woodstock here. For more from Portugal. The Man be sure to listen to our Portugal. The Man Essentials playlist here.

Royal Blood
How Did We Get So Dark?

British rock duo Royal Blood released their sophomore studio album entitled How Did We Get So Dark?. The album follows singles “Where Are You Now?,” “Lights Out,” “Hook, Line & Sinker” and “I Only Lie When I Love You.” How Did We Get So Dark? is out via Warner Bros. Records

You can listen to How Did We Get So Dark? here. To hear some of the influences for their new album, check out our Royal Blood: What We’re Listening To playlist here.

Steve Earle & The Dukes
So You Wannabe an Outlaw

Steve Earle & The Dukes return to their country roots with So You Wannabe an Outlaw. The album follows singles “Lookin’ For A Woman,” “Fixin’ To Die” and “So You Wannabe an Outlaw.” So You Wannabe an Outlaw is out via Warner Bros. Records.

You can listen to So You Wannabe an Outlaw here. Be sure to check out our Legends: Steve Earle playlist here.

Terror Jr
Bop City 2: TerroRising

Pop trio Terror Jr has released their sophomore album Bop City 2: TerroRising. The album follows the release of singles “Caramel” and “Deathwish”. Bop City 2: TerroRising is out via their own EFFESS imprint under Atlantic.

You can listen to Bop City 2: TerroRising here.


[fbcomments num="5" width="100%" count="off" countmsg="kommentarer" url=""]